Also Visit:
The Future of Veterinary Medicine

AAVMC Excellence in Research Award, Presented by Zoetis

Nomination Period Opens: September 1, 2014
Nomination Deadline: October 31, 2014


Eligibility for this award is limited to the 2014 recipients of the Zoetis Excellence in Research Award at each college or school in the U.S. or the Caribbean.

Who may nominate

Institutional representatives must submit the materials identified below for their college's recipient to be considered.


The awardee will be notified in December 2014. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium in March 2015 to receive the award and make a short presentation. Awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC. The awardee is encouraged to submit their presentation to the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education for publication.

What to submit
  1. A letter of nomination from the dean, associate dean, or other individual who can evaluate the nominee's research accomplishments.
  2. Two supporting letters from individuals knowledgeable about the nominee’s achievements.
  3. A personal statement from the nominee describing his or her research philosophy and a brief description of major research accomplishments, innovations or contributions
  4. The nominee's current C.V.
Where to submit materials

Materials should be submitted by email to

Award criteria
  1. Originality
  2. Experimental Practices
  3. Leadership
  4. Graduate Student/Residency Training
Award committee

The selection committee is composed of up to five members of the AAVMC Research Committee.

Background and past recipients

In 2011, the Board of Directors established the AAVMC Excellence in Research Award to recognize outstanding research and scholarly achievements in the field of veterinary medicine. The award honors those who demonstrate excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community, and exceptional mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine. This award showcases the contributions of AAVMC member institutions to the scientific community, and the Award Committee seeks the most outstanding individuals for this recognition. In 2014, AAVMC partnered with Zoetis to establish the AAVMC Excellence in Research Award, Presented by Zoetis.

Past recipients of the prior AAVMC Excellence in Research Award

      2014    Dr. Yoshihiro Kawaoka
      2013    Dr. James Fox
      2012    Dr. Edward Hoover
      2011    Dr. Stephen Barthold
Monday, August 17, 2015

University of Adelaide in Australia Joins AAVMC as Affiliate Member

read more Wednesday, July 29, 2015

AAVMC Executive Director Visits Australian and New Zealand Veterinary Colleges

read more Thursday, July 23, 2015

Leaders Named During Annual AAVMC Assembly in Boston

read more Journal of Veterinary Medical Education