The 2013 Annual Conference in Pictures

From legislative visits to inspiring Iverson Bell sessions on diversity, the conference hit many high points.

(Note:  Hover over the arrows on top to navigate to more photos.)

The 2013 Annual conference proved to be one of the AAVMC’s most well-attended and successful conferences to date. Nearly 250 veterinary medical educators, policymakers, and students gathered for the conference and the biennial Iverson Bell Symposium.

Despite threatened snowstorms, March 7 ending up being a beautiful day for legislative visits and AAVMC member representatives were able to meet directly with many Congressional members or staff. During the visits, representatives from member schools discussed the AAVMC’s legislative agenda, which included encouraging members of the House of Representatives to join the newly formed Veterinary Medicine Caucus, and funding for veterinary research and the Veterinary Medical Loan Repayment Program.

For example, in photo two, during legislative visits arranged by the AAVMC, Michael Hanlon from Iowa State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine -- and the AAVMC’s liaison from the Student American Veterinary Medical Association -- met with U.S. Representative Tom Latham (R-IA).

In photo three, Dr. Grace Anne Mengel, staff veterinarian at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, met with U.S. Representative Glenn Thompson (R-PA) and his dog Truman.

In photo four, Dr. Cyril Clarke, dean of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine, met with Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR).

In photo six, Dr. Kent Hoblet, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University, met with Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS).

In photo seven, Dr. Jim Lloyd, associate dean for budget, planning and institutional research at Michigan State University, met with Rep. John Dingle (D-MI).

In photo 10, Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL, second from left) and his wife, Carolyn Yoho, attended the AAVMC’s Congressional Reception.  Shown to the left of Rep. Yoho is Dr. Glenn Hoffsis, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Florida, and (to Carolyn Yoho’s right) AAVMC President Dr. Deborah Kochevar,  and AAVMC Executive Director Dr. Andrew Maccabe.

The conference concluded with the AAVMC's annual Career Fair (see the photos are the end of the series.)

Learn more about the conference.