Latest News

Wednesday, 15 August, 2012

AAVMC Elects 2012-2013 Officers and Directors

(Washington, D.C.) August 15, 2012
  – Dr. Deborah Kochevar, dean of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, assumed the presidency of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) on August 6, 2012, at the AAVMC's 2012 Summer Meeting.  Delegates to the AAVMC Assembly also elected Dr. Kent Hoblet, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University, to the office of president-elect.

“I look forward to serving veterinary medical education during a time when veterinarians are expanding their contributions to animal, human and ecosystem health,” Dr. Kochevar said. “Veterinary medical schools and colleges educate professionals who serve companion animals, help assure food safety and sustainable agriculture, promote One Health and advance biomedical research.  It’s a privilege to help shape and implement a vision for the future of academic veterinary medicine during this strategically important time.”

"The entire staff of the AAVMC looks forward to Dean Kochevar's leadership," said Dr. Andrew Maccabe, AAVMC executive director.  “As the first female dean to serve as president, she continues a growing trend of   women as leaders in veterinary medical education.  We look forward to supporting Dean Kochevar and the board of directors as they work to ensure that veterinary medical education is responsive to society’s changing needs."

In addition to Drs. Kochevar and Hoblet, the AAVMC Assembly elected Dr. Cyril Clarke, dean of the Oregon State University College of Veterinary Medicine, as at-large director for U.S. colleges; Dr. Grace Mulcahy, dean of the University College Dublin School of Veterinary Medicine, at-large director for international colleges; and Dr. David Hardin, head of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences, at-large director for departments of veterinary science. Dr. Stuart Reid, principal of the University of London Royal Veterinary College, continues as secretary, and Dr. Peter Haynes, dean of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine, continues as treasurer. Dr. Christian Abee, chair of the Department of Veterinary Science and director of the Michale E. Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine and Research at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, continues as at-large director for departments of comparative medicine; and Dr. Alastair Cribb, dean of the University of Calgary Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, continues as at-large director for Canadian colleges.

Dr. Kochevar is the Henry and Lois Foster Professor at the Tufts Cummings School. Prior to her appointment as dean in 2006, she was associate dean for professional programs and held the Wiley Chair of Veterinary Medical Education at Texas A&M University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.  She was a member of the veterinary physiology and pharmacology faculty at Texas A&M from 1987-2006 and served two stints as acting dean in 2004 and 2005. In 2010, Dr. Kochevar was selected as Outstanding Woman Veterinarian of the Year by the Association for Women Veterinarians Foundation.

Dr. Kochevar graduated with a BA degree from Rice University in 1978. She received a doctor of veterinary medicine (DVM) degree from Texas A&M University in 1981, and a PhD degree in cellular and molecular biology from the University of Texas, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in 1987. She was a National Institutes of Health National Research Service Award Fellow in 1984-86. In the mid-1990s, she spent a year in Washington, D.C., as a Congressional Science Fellow to the Senate Labor and Human Resources Committee.

Heralded as an inspiring mentor to her students, Dr. Kochevar has won many teaching awards, including the Norden Distinguished Teacher Award, the Student American Veterinary Medical Association National Teaching Award in Basic Science, and the Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching at Texas A&M. She has received grants for both biomedical research and for education and curriculum development and participated in educational outreach projects funded by the National Institute of Environmental Health Science.

Dr. Kochevar is past-president of the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology and has been active in the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), having chaired its Council on Education and the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates.

#  #  #
The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine.  Its members include all 33 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, eight departments of veterinary science, eight departments of comparative medicine, 12 international colleges of veterinary medicine, and three affiliate members.  On the Web:

Jeanne Johnson, Communications
Phone: 202-371-9195, ext. 144

Be Social