Also Visit:
The Future of Veterinary Medicine

Leadership Committee

 The committee is charged to:

  1. Provide recommendations and advice to the Board of Directors regarding:
    1. Leadership activities and programs in academic veterinary medicine, including programs that foster leadership growth opportunities for students, faculty, and staff;
    2. AAVMC leadership memberships and partnerships with other organizations and agencies; and
    3. Changes to the charge of the committee. 
  1. Conduct ongoing review of existing AAVMC leadership programs and make recommendations to the AAVMC Board of Directors for enhancing, continuing, or sunsetting the programs. 
  1. Develop program content and recommend speakers on subjects related to leadership for AAVMC meetings of the committee or plenary sessions at the Annual and/or Summer Meetings of the AAVMC, in consultation with the Annual Conference Planning Committee and AAVMC staff. 
  1. Recommend methods for raising awareness of the importance of leadership programs for students, faculty, and staff at AAVMC member institutions. 
  1. Maintain active communications with the AAVMC staff liaison to the committee. 
  1. Submit an annual report of committee activities to the AAVMC Deans Committee. 



The committee will be comprised of six to ten deans, associate deans, or department heads from AAVMC member institutions. Committee members will serve terms of three years, and will be eligible for reappointment once to a maximum of two terms.


2015-2016 Committee Roster


Dr. Michael Chaddock

Assistant Dean, College of Vet. Med & Biomedical Sciences

Texas A&M University

Term expires July 2016


Dr. Ramesh Vemulapalli

Professor and Dept. Head, Department of Comparative Pathobiology

Purdue University

Term expires July 2018


Dr. Anton Pijpers

Vice-President, Executive Board

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Universiteit Utrecht

Term expires July 2018


Dr. Jennie Hodgson

Associate Dean for Professional Programs 

College of Veterinary Medicine


Term expires July 2018


Dr. Duncan Ferguson
Dept. Head, College of Veterinary Medicine
University of Illinois 

Term expires July 2017

Dr. Catherine Butler

Dept. Chair, School of Veterinary Medicine

St. George’s University

Term expires July 2017

Dr. Gordon Kirby
Associate Dean, Ontario Veterinary College
University of Guelph 

Term expires July 2017

Dr. Joan Hendricks Chair

Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine

University of Pennsylvania

Term expires July 2018

Dr. Jeffrey Wichtel

Dean, Ontario Veterinary College

University of Guelph

Term expires July 2018

Dr. Spencer Johnston

Dept. Head, College of Veterinary Medicine

University of Georgia

Term expires July 2018

Mr. Andrew Zoeller

Program Manager

AAVMC, Staff Liaison



Find a Veterinary School Near You! Friday, June 24, 2016

New Leadership for AAVMC Leadership Academy

read more Monday, May 23, 2016

Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Wins 2016 AAVMC Excellence in Communications Award

read more Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Council for International Veterinary Medical Education Established

read more Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Participants from Across the Veterinary Profession Gather to Identify Ways to Alleviate Student Debt

read more Journal of Veterinary Medical Education