Research Committee

The charge to the committee is to:
  • Plan agendas for business and informational meetings held in conjunction with the annual AAVMC and the AAVMC-AVMA meetings.
  • It shall be the responsibility of the Chairperson in collaboration with the Secretary, Treasurer and the Past-Chairperson to:
  • Develop meeting agendas for both informational and business meetings of the Associate Deans and Directors of Research.
  • Prepare annual budget requests fro committee sponsored activities to the Executive Director of AAVMC 
  • It shall be the responsibility of the Secretary and Treasurer to:
  • Prepare and distribute minutes from business meetings.
  • Prepare annual committee reports in collaboration with the Past-Chairperson and the Chairperson to the Chief Executive Officer of AAVMC.
  • Coordinate and disseminate information regarding the APLU Board on Veterinary Medicine regarding research issues, interests and needs to the group
  • Monitor and disseminate information regarding federal legislation that may potentially affect veterinary medical research with the help of AAVMC Staff.

2020-2021 Research Leadership Committee  


Dr. Lois Hoyer, Chair
Associate Dean for Research and Advanced Studies, College of Veterinary Medicine  
University of Illinois
Term expires 2021

Dr. Kathryn Meurs, Past Chair
Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Studies College of Veterinary Medicine
North Carolina State University
Term expires 2021


Dr. Molly McCue,
Associate Dean for Research
College of Veterinary Medicine
University of Minnesota


 Larry Hammell, Int'l Rep
Associate Dean, Graduate Studies & Research
Atlantic Veterinary College
University of Prince Edward Island


 Dr. Ted Mashima, Staff Liaison
Senior Director for Academic and Research