Upon the Shoulders of Giants

Visionary, dedicated leaders have shaped the future of the AAVMC. Among many champions, these stand out:

Dr. W. W. Armistead, former dean of colleges at Texas A&M University, Michigan State and the University of Tennessee, helped found the AAVMC, served two terms as president, was founding editor of the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education, and led the creation of the Federation of Associations of Schools of the Health Professions in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Lester Crawford, former commissioner of the Food & Drug Administration and associate dean for research at the University of Georgia, provided key leadership for the AAVMC on two occasions and served as JVME editor.

Dr. Billy Hooper, former associate dean of academic affairs at the Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine, was a defining leader for the AAVMC throughout the 1970’s and 80’s and served as the first executive director.

Dr. William R. Pritchard, former dean of the University of California – Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, provided international perspectives and leadership for academic veterinary medicine and co-chaired the Pew National Veterinary Education Program.

Dr. Jack Stockton, former dean of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, served as AAVMC president and is credited with leading the organization through the formative years of the 1970’s

Dr. Richard B. Talbot, former dean of colleges at the University of Georgia and Virginia-Maryland, edited the JVME from 1980-1994 and was a powerful voice for progress and innovation in the profession.

Dr. John R. Welser, former dean of the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Vice President of the Upjohn Company, provided early leadership to develop corporate support and led the drive to establish a Washington, D.C. office.