Iverson Bell Award


Nomination Period Opens: September 2, 2020
Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2020

Nominees may be an individual within a college/school of veterinary medicine or external to a college/school of veterinary medicine. The individual need not be a veterinarian.

Who may nominate
Any individual employed at an AAVMC member institution.

The awardee will be notified in November 2020. The award includes a $1000 honorarium. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference in March 2021 to receive the award and will be featured in a 3-minute tribute video. Awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC.  

What to submit
1.    Nomination letter addressing the award criteria (see below)
2.    Supporting documentation, not to exceed 10 single-sided pages

Where to submit materials
Materials should be submitted by email to awards@aavmc.org.

Award criteria
  1. A demonstrated commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion in academic veterinary medicine through contributions that may have impact in any area–college, local area or region, state and/or national arenas.
  2. Played a significant role in the recruitment, development, and retention of pre-vet and DVM students, faculty, residents and interns from underrepresented or disadvantaged and/or marginalized groups.
  3. Included and promoted diversity in the veterinary medical profession through the inclusion/infusion of diversity issues in the college environment through programming and curriculum additions.
Award committee
The AAVMC Diversity Committee appoints the award committee from among its members.

Background of the award and recent past recipients
The Iverson Bell Award is given in memory and recognition of Dr. Iverson Bell's outstanding leadership and contributions in the promotion of diversity in veterinary medical education.

Past recipients of the Iverson Bell Award

       2020    Drs. Jaime Gongora and Sandra San Miguel
       2019    Dr. Kenita Rogers
       2017    Dr. Allen Cannedy
       2015    Dr. K. Paige Carmichael
       2013    Dr. Ronnie Elmore
       2011    Dr. Willie Reed
       2009    Dr. Tracy Hanner
       2007    Dr. Halcyon Watkins
       2005    Dr. James Coffman
       2003    Dr. Alfonza Atkinson
       2001    Dr. Louis Archbold
       1999    Dr. Eugene Adams
       1997    Dr. Sylvia Graham
       1995    Dr. Albert Dade
       1993    Dr. Walter Bowie
       1991    Ms. Patricia Lowrie
       1989    Dr. Billy Hooper