AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award

Nomination Period Opens: September 2, 2020
Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2020

Current or former faculty, staff, or student at an AAVMC member institution.

Who may nominate
Any individual employed at an AAVMC member institution. Nominations are automatically reconsidered for three years.

The awardee will be notified in November 2020. The award includes a $1000 honorarium. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference in March 2021 to receive the award and will be featured in a 3-minute tribute video. Awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC.

What to submit
  1. Nomination letter addressing the award criteria (see below).
  2. The nominee's current C.V.
Where to submit materials
Materials should be submitted using the following survey linked here 
Award criteria
  1. Leadership in public policy which advances veterinary medical education.
  2. Advocating for veterinary medical education on a national or international scale.
Award committee
The AAVMC Leadership Committee and AAVMC Advocacy Committee each appoint two members to the award committee from among their membership.

Background of the award and recent past recipients
The Board of Directors established the Senator John Melcher, DVM Public Policy Leadership Award in 2007. The award is given for leadership in public policy for advancing veterinary medical education.

Past recipients of the AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award
       2020    Dr. Glen Hoffsis
       2019    Dr. Gerald Parker
       2018    Dr. James Roth  
       2016    Dr. Phillip Nelson
       2015    Dr. L. Garry Adams
       2014    Dr. John Herrmann
       2013    Dr. William Hueston
       2012    Dr. Lonnie King
       2011    Dr. John Thomson
       2010    Dr. Lawrence Heider
       2009    Dr. Bennie Osburn
       2008    Dr. Leon Russell
       2007    Senator John Melcher