Latest News

Thursday, 11 March, 2010

AAVMC Awards Melcher Public Policy Award To Lawrence E. Heider, DVM, Visionary Leader In Promoting Veterinary Legislative Advocacy

Washington, D.C. – The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) announced today that it has awarded the AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award to Lawrence E. Heider, DVM, DACVPM.  The award is being presented March 12, 2010, at AAVMC's Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

"Dr. Heider envisioned the need for the AAVMC to be an advocate of academic veterinary medical education, crafted the Association's first legislative strategy, added legislative staff, and helped build the AAVMC's close working relationship with the AVMA's Government Relations Division, which has made the AAVMC the respected and effective legislative force it is today," says AAVMC Executive Director Marguerite Pappaioanou, DVM, MPVM, PhD.

Dr. Heider received his DVM from The Ohio State University (OSU) in 1964 and was engaged in private practice from 1964-1966.  He joined the OSU Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences in 1966, rising to the rank of Professor, and joined the OSU Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine in 1974.  Dr. Heider held various administrative positions at Ohio State from 1984 through 1991, including Director of the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital and Chair of the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.  Dr. Heider served as Dean of the University of Prince Edward Island (UPEI) Atlantic Veterinary College from 1991 to 1998, and as UPEI Interim President during the 1998-1999 academic year.  Dr. Heider operated a consulting firm, L.E. Heider and Associates, for three years before serving as Executive Director of the AAVMC from 2002 to 2007.  Dr. Heider was Interim CEO of the National Commission on Veterinary Economic Issues from 2007 to 2008.  He is a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine (ACVPM), and has received awards and honors from the ACVPM, the Atlantic Veterinary College, the OSU College of Veterinary Medicine, the OSU University Alumni Association, and other organizations and societies.

"Dr. Heider worked to raise the profile and impact of the AAVMC's advocacy and legislative educational efforts through interactions with the AVMA, allied biomedical organizations, and federal agencies.  Today, the AAVMC is a respected voice for academic veterinary education, and a large measure of the credit for this remarkable transformation goes to Dr. Heider," said Dr. Glen F. Hoffsis, Dean at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, one of the many individuals who nominated Dr. Heider for the award.

AAVMC established the Melcher Leadership Award in Public Policy in 2007 to honor Senator John Melcher, DVM, who was also the first person to receive the award.

The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is a non-profit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Its members include all 33 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, nine departments of veterinary science, eight departments of comparative medicine, three veterinary medical education institutions, nine international colleges of veterinary medicine, and four affiliate international colleges of veterinary medicine.   

On the Web:

Be Social