AAVMC Names Recipient of 2021 Iverson Bell Award

Washington, D.C., February 10, 2021 – Dr. Ruby L. Perry, dean of the Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine (TUCVM), is the recipient of the 2021 Iverson Bell Award from the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC).

Dr. Ruby L. Perry

“The AAVMC’s annual series of professional awards recognize outstanding veterinary medical educators who excel in various areas of academic veterinary medicine,” said AAVMC Chief Executive Officer Dr. Andrew T. Maccabe. “Their dedication, achievements and contributions serve as a model of excellence for their colleagues and inspire new generations of veterinarians. We look forward to honoring Dr. Perry during our 2021 annual conference.”

The Iverson Bell Award recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions in promoting opportunities for under-represented minorities in veterinary medical education. The award is sponsored by Banfield.

Dr. Perry is dean and professor of veterinary radiology at TUCVM, which is the most diverse veterinary medical school in the United States. She is TUCVM’s first female dean, the first African American female board-certified veterinary radiologist, and the first veterinary alumna to serve as Tuskegee University’s acting president.

Her contributions to diversity include forming TUCVM’s first Diversity and Inclusion College Committee and signing historic Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) with Auburn University and the University of North Carolina Pembroke to further veterinary medical training and increase racial diversity in the veterinary workforce.

She also serves as secretary on the AAVMC’s Board of Directors and was recently honored with the 2020 Zoetis Champion of Diversity Award.

Dr. Perry is board certified in veterinary radiology and served for 20 years as a veterinary radiologist and section chief of radiology at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

She moved to Tuskegee in 2007 to take the position of associate dean of academic affairs and became dean in 2015.

“(Dr. Perry) has modeled the practice of connecting deeply with her students, the most diverse of all veterinary colleges, with an experienced perspective, and an emphasis on empathy and resolve to excel,” wrote Dr. Calvin Johnson, dean of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, in nominating her for the award. “This prestigious recognition of her success in promoting diversity and inclusion in the veterinary profession has been well earned and is richly deserved.”

Dr. Perry received both her bachelor’s degree and her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) from Tuskegee University.

Her award will be presented during the AAVMC’s 2021 Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium, which will be held virtually March 3-5, 2021.

Download a photo of Dr. Perry here.

About the AAVMC

The member institutions of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) promote and protect the health and wellbeing of people, animals and the environment by advancing the profession of veterinary medicine and preparing new generations of veterinarians to meet the evolving needs of a changing world. Founded in 1966, the AAVMC represents more than 40,000 faculty, staff and students across the global academic veterinary medical community. Our member institutions include Council on Education (COE) accredited veterinary medical colleges and schools in the United States, Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, Europe, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand as well as departments of veterinary science and departments of comparative medicine in the U.S.