Latest News

Thursday, 08 January, 2015

Michigan State University Veterinary Professor Earns AAVMC/Zoetis National Teaching Excellence Award

 Dr. Jon Patterson
Washington, D.C., January 8, 2014 – The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) announced today that Dr. Jon Patterson from Michigan State University (MSU) is the recipient of the 2014 AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis. The honor is considered the most prestigious national teaching award in veterinary medicine.

Dr. Patterson is a professor in MSU’s Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation at the College of Veterinary Medicine. He will receive the award during the AAVMC’s 2015 Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, March 14, where he will also share his approach, experiences and teaching philosophy with more than 200 conference attendees, including veterinary college deans, faculty and associated dignitaries from throughout the United States and the world.

The AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award recognizes excellence in professional veterinary medical education and is presented to an educator whose sustained record of teaching excellence and ability, dedication, character and leadership has contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession.

"Students and colleagues alike admire Dr. Patterson’s dedication and passion,” said Dr. Trevor Ames, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Minnesota and president of the AAVMC. "His attention to teaching, devotion to the development of a high-quality curriculum, and ability to share his enthusiasm for research and mentor students are all qualities that we look for in an honoree.”

Dr. Patterson teaches general pathology, neuropathology, and diagnostic pathology to veterinary students in classroom, laboratory, and clerkship settings, and he also trains residents in veterinary anatomic pathology. He has a particular interest in neuropathology, which is the focus of his current research on spinal cord disease or dysfunction associated with hind limb ataxia and weakness in pug dogs.

In nominating Dr. Patterson for the award, department Chair Dr. L.J. McCutcheon, described him as a “talented, dedicated and well-rounded educator” who “brings (pathology) to life for students,” often using a case-based learning approach. She added that Patterson’s “passion for teaching, an expectation for ongoing excellence in his craft, continuing innovation in instructional methods and devotion to the learner reflect attributes that are truly integral to this award.”

Students who contributed to his nomination wrote that “Dr. Patterson's teaching methods are unanimously loved by all of his students; so much so that his lesson designs have been used as an example of how other teachers should consider presenting material.”

The AAVMC is partnering with Zoetis in presenting the award.

"We are honored to sponsor the AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis,” said Dr. Christine Jenkins, Zoetis’ group director of Veterinary Medical Services for Animal Health. “This national award has recognized outstanding faculty for their dedication to teaching veterinary medical students for over 50 years. We congratulate Dr. Patterson for his dedication to teaching and we thank him for making a positive impact on the veterinary profession."

Patterson, who is board certified by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, earned both his bachelor’s degree in microbiology and his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from Cornell University. He also holds a doctorate in pathobiology from the University of Illinois.

- 30 -

The national AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis (formerly the Pfizer Distinguished Teacher Award) is presented annually to a faculty member at a college or school of veterinary medicine in the United States and the Caribbean. It is the most prestigious teaching award in veterinary medicine. Since 1963, the award has been sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health. Award nominees are selected by their individual colleges, while a selection committee consisting of AAVMC members chooses the final honoree.

The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC)
is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Members include all 35 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, eight departments of veterinary science, seven departments of comparative medicine, 14 international colleges of veterinary medicine, and six affiliate colleges of veterinary medicine:

Jeanne Johnson or Jeff Douglas
AAVMC Communications
Phone:  202/371-9195, x144

Be Social