Latest News

Wednesday, 14 January, 2015

Colorado State University Veterinary Professor Earns AAVMC/Zoetis National Research Award

 Dr. Susan VandeWoude
Washington, D.C., January 14, 2014 –
The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) announced today that Dr. Susan VandeWoude from the Colorado State University (CSU) College of Veterinary Medicine and Biological Sciences (CVMBS) is the recipient of the 2014 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award, presented by Zoetis.

Selected by a committee of peers, the honor designates Dr. VandeWoude as the outstanding veterinary medical researcher of the year. She received the award for her work on feline immunology and virology, which includes investigating feline immunodeficiency virus (FIV) as a model for human disease, examining the molecular nature of host/virus interaction, and exploring the larger implications of infectious diseases on wildlife.

The award will be presented during the AAVMC’s 2015 Annual Conference on Saturday, March 14, at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The AAVMC Board of Directors established the annual research award in 2010 to recognize outstanding research and scholarly achievements in the field of veterinary medicine. It recognizes an individual who, over the course of his or her career, has demonstrated excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community, and mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine.

Dr. VandeWoude began working at CSU in 1990. She is a professor of comparative medicine in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology, and is the CVMBS associate dean of research.

She has served as the principal investigator on grants totaling nearly $10 million, most of which came from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and National Science Foundation, and she has participated in a variety of roles in training grants totaling nearly $6.5 million. Her work has resulted in more than 70 peer-reviewed publications, 200 abstracts presentations, and numerous invited lectures.

“Taken together, the accomplishments of Dr. VandeWoude reveal a creative, talented, productive scientist who has made important contributions to the body of scientific knowledge and has trained many students in research,” wrote CVMBS Dean Dr. Mark Stetter in nominating VandeWoude for the award. “She has had an enormous impact through her remarkable success in securing extramural funding for our training programs. Furthermore, she has an impressive track record of leadership and the impact of that leadership can be quantitatively and qualitatively measured at the college and university level and well beyond our own institution.”

Nominators also praised her as a highly regarded scientist and “one of the few researchers who are able to successfully participate in both human and animal health research.”

Dr. VandeWoude earned her bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology and her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. She also completed a NIH post-doctoral residency in the Division of Comparative Medicine at Johns Hopkins University (JHU).

The AAVMC is partnering with Zoetis in presenting the award.

- 30 -

The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Its members include 35 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, nine departments of veterinary science, eight departments of comparative medicine, thirteen international colleges of veterinary medicine, and six affiliate colleges of veterinary medicine:


Jeanne Johnson or Jeff Douglas
AAVMC Communications
Phone:  202/371-9195, x144

Be Social