Latest News

Wednesday, 25 February, 2015

Colorado State University Veterinary Dean Emeritus Earns AAVMC Recognition Lecture Award

Recognition Lecture Award winner Dr. Lance Perryman
Washington, D.C., February 25, 2014 – The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) announced today that Dr. Lance Perryman, dean emeritus of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has been chosen to deliver the 2015 Recognition Lecture at the AAVMC’s 2015 Annual Conference.

The Recognition Lecture is an annual honor presented by the AAVMC to an individual whose leadership and vision has made a significant contribution to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession. The award, established in 2007, is presented to current or former faculty, staff, or students at an AAVMC member institution to recognize leadership in public policy that advances veterinary medical education and success in advocating for veterinary medical education on a national or international scale.

Dr. Perryman will present his lecture at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C., at 8 a.m. on Saturday, March 14,  before more than 200 conference attendees, including veterinary college deans, faculty and associated dignitaries from throughout the United States and the world on the conference theme of "Recruiting and Selecting for the Future of Veterinary Medicine.”

Dr. Perryman served as dean at CSU for more than 11 years, beginning in 2001 and ending with his retirement in June 2012.  During his tenure, in spite of state budgetary challenges, the college achieved impressive growth, including significant increases in extramurally funded research. In addition, he established the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine/Masters of Business Administration (DVM/MBA) program, which became a model for additional combined degree programs within the college.

His long history of leadership in veterinary medicine includes service as president of the AAVMC, the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, and the American Association of Veterinary Immunologists. As a member of the Colorado Veterinary Medical Association, he received the association’s President’s Award in 2005 and from 2010-2011 he served on the Colorado Veterinary Practice Act Sunset Task Force. He also received the Distinguished Veterinary Alumnus Award for Excellence in Research and Teaching from Washington State University in June of 2010.

In nominating Dr. Perryman for the award, his successor as dean, Dr. Mark Stetter, praised Dean Perryman for his many achievements and for serving as a successful advocate for the veterinary profession and the societal contributions of translational research. “The lives Dr. Perryman has impacted are countless and the culture of excellence which he helped create will have a huge impact on many, for many years to come,” wrote Stetter.  

Perryman, who is board certified by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, earned a master’s degree in comparative biology from The Ohio State University and a DVM and a Ph.D. degree in comparative biology from Washington State University.

The AAVMC is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Its members include 35 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, nine departments of veterinary science, eight departments of comparative medicine, thirteen international colleges of veterinary medicine, and six affiliate colleges of veterinary medicine:

- 30 -


Jeanne Johnson or Jeff Douglas

AAVMC Communications

Phone:  202/371-9195, x144


Be Social