Latest News

Wednesday, 10 August, 2016

Saskatchewan’s Freeman Assumes Leadership of AAVMC

 From left: Dr. James Thompson; President-elect Dr. Phillip Nelson; President Dr. Douglas Freeman; Immediate Past-President Dr. Eleanor Green; Treasurer Dr. Mark Markel; Dr. Calvin Johnson; Dr. Robert Dysko. Click here to download a high res photo.


WASHINGTON, D.C., August 10, 2016 – Members of the Assembly of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) elected new officers and considered several topics and initiatives in academic veterinary medicine during the 2016 AAVMC Assembly on Monday, August 8 in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Douglas Freeman, dean of the Western College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan in Canada, became the first non-U.S. college dean ever elected president of the AAVMC.

“It is a great organization that serves academic veterinary medicine very well, and I am honored to take on this role with the AAVMC,” said Dr. Freeman. “I look forward to continuing our work to better serve the profession and veterinary medical education as the association marks its 50th year.”

 Immediate Past-President Dr. Eleanor Green and President Dr.

  Douglas Freeman. Click here to download a high res photo.

A theriogenologist, Dr. Freeman brings the diverse experience of a 33-year career in veterinary medicine and academic administration to the job. That includes professional practice, work in the veterinary pharmaceutical industry, and extensive service at several universities. Freeman worked at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst for six years, at New Zealand’s Massey University for three years, and completed nine years of service as a department head at North Dakota State University before being appointed dean of the WCVM in 2010.

He also served as an American Council of Education (ACE) fellow with the senior vice president of health sciences at the University of Minnesota.

Freeman earned his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and Master of Science degrees from the University of Minnesota, where he also conducted a clinical residency. He earned a doctoral degree in reproductive physiology from the University of Idaho and is a Diplomate (and past-president) of the American College of Theriogenologists (ACT).

Dr. Phillip Nelson, dean of the Western University of Health Sciences’ College of Veterinary Medicine in Pomona, California, was elected to the president-elect position.

Dr. Joan Hendricks, the Gilbert S. Kahn Dean of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, will serve as secretary during a one-year interim appointment. The secretary’s position was vacated when Dr. Jean Sanders left her position as dean of the Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Several others were elected to at-large positions. Dr. Calvin Johnson, dean of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, was elected to represent at-large District I (U.S.); Dr. Michel Carrier, dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the Universite de Montreal, will represent at-large District II (Canada); Dr. Rosanne Taylor, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Sydney, will represent at-large District III (Australia, New Zealand & Asia); Dr. Timothy Ogilvie, dean of the St. George’s University College of Veterinary Medicine, will represent at-large District IV (Europe, Mexico & the Caribbean). Dr. Jane Christopher-Hennings of South Dakota State University will represent at-large departments of veterinary science.

AAVMC President Dr. Eleanor Green, the Carl B. King Dean and Professor at the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine, presented an update on the Council of Education (CoE) and announced an institutional assessment to provide operating resources for CoE programmatic activities. Following a restructuring of the CoE in 2014, representation from AAVMC member institutions was increased to equal that of members of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) and the organization assumed more responsibility for its operating costs.

The Assembly also heard summaries of key issues that were examined during in-depth sessions featured as part of the summer meeting of the Board of Directors on August 7. Those included:

  • Debt-to-Income Ratio, presented by Dr. Michael Chaddock, associate dean for administration at the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Health and Wellness, presented by Dr. James Thompson, dean of the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine and Dr. Mark Stetter, dean of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Leadership Development, presented by Dr. John Hendricks, Gilbert S. Kahn Dean, University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine
  •  International Development, presented by Dr. Michael Lairmore, dean of the University of California Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. James Lloyd, dean of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine, and Dr. Chaddock were honored for the role they played in creating and operating the AAVMC’s Leadership Academy over the past four years.

AVMA Director of Veterinary Economics Dr. Michael Dicks and AAVMC Associate Executive Director of Institutional Research and Diversity Dr. Lisa Greenhill presented highlights from a number of collaborative research programs examining economic and recruitment issues in academic veterinary medicine and the profession.

Dr. Chase Crawford, director of the APLU (Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities)/AAVMC Antimicrobial Resistance Initiative, presented an overview of programs and activities underway since that organization constructed their action plan in fall 2015.

The Assembly also voted to accept an application for affiliate membership in the AAVMC from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the Universidad Autonoma of Neuvo Leon in Monterrey, Mexico.

The AAVMC is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment around the world by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Members include 49 accredited veterinary medical colleges in the United States, Canada, Europe and Australia.

- 30 -

AAVMC MEDIA CONTACTS:                                                                                             

Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson                                                                                  

Phone:  540/998-1800  or 202/371-9195 x 144                                                                                      


Be Social