AAVMC Names Recipient of 2021 Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service

Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson
Phone: 202/371-9195, x144
Email: jdouglas@aavmc.org or jjohnson@aavmc.org

Dr. Corrie Brown

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 17, 2021 — Dr. Corrie Brown from the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2021 AAVMC Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service from the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC).

“The AAVMC’s annual series of professional awards recognize outstanding veterinary medical educators who excel in various areas of academic veterinary medicine,” said AAVMC Chief Executive Officer Dr. Andrew T. Maccabe. “Their dedication, achievements and contributions serve as a model of excellence for their colleagues and inspire new generations of veterinarians. We look forward to honoring Dr. Brown during our 2021 annual conference.”

The AAVMC Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service is presented by the AAVMC to an individual whose leadership and vision has made a significant contribution to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession.

Dr. Brown is the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Pathology at the University of Georgia, where she developed a popular elective in international veterinary medicine and works mentoring veterinary students interested in global animal health. In her 25 years at UGA, her research, instruction and outreach have shaped global initiatives that advance animal health and food security. Beyond UGA, she has provided numerous courses, workshops and seminars around the world, often in resource-challenged areas.

She has won numerous education awards, including being named the AVMA’s International Veterinarian of the Year in 2013 and was twice named the national SAVMA Teacher of the Year. The author of 23 book chapters and author or co-author of 176 publications, she balances teaching and speaking worldwide with an educational research program in transboundary disease that has received funding from the United State Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

“Dr. Brown is a true leader in veterinary education,” wrote Dr. Jesse M. Hostetter, UGA’s Barry G. Harmon Professor of Pathology in nominating her for the award. He described how she inspires critical thinking and interactive learning and consistently earns teaching evaluation scores that are among the highest in the department and the college. “She has dedicated much of her career to working with students, not only at UGA but throughout the world. Her commitment to advancing our profession through outreach and education is clear.”

Dr. Brown earned her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) from the University of Guelph and PhD from the University of California, Davis.

Her award will be presented during the AAVMC’s 2021 Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium, which will be held virtually March 3-5, 2021.

Download a photo of Dr. Brown here


The member institutions of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) promote and protect the health and wellbeing of people, animals and the environment by advancing the profession of veterinary medicine and preparing new generations of veterinarians to meet the evolving needs of a changing world. Founded in 1966, the AAVMC represents more than 40,000 faculty, staff and students across the global academic veterinary medical community. Our member institutions include veterinary medical colleges and schools in the United States, Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United Kingdom, Europe, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand as well as departments of veterinary science and departments of comparative medicine in the U.S.

        – 30 –