American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) announces its 2024-2025 Board of Directors


Susan Leigh

Phone: 202/371-9195, x171


WASHINGTON, D.C., April 26, 2024 — The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is pleased to announce its new Board of Directors for 2024-2025.

Dr. Rustin Moore of The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine was elected President and Board Chair for 2024-2025. Dr. Stuart Reid of the Royal Veterinary College was named President-Elect.

“I am deeply honored to assume the role of president of the AAVMC, especially during this pivotal period of growth in academic veterinary medicine,” said Dr. Moore. “Working closely with the board and staff, my principal goal is to ensure a smooth transition as we recruit, hire, and onboard our next CEO. This individual will have the opportunity to build on the strong foundation established by Dr. Andrew Maccabe during his transformative 12-year tenure as CEO, which has positioned the AAVMC for continued success and impact.”

New Board Members include Dr. Bonnie Rush, Kansas State University, and Dr. Kathryn Meurs, North Caroline State University, both as At-Large Directors, Region I (US; Mexico and Caribbean), and Dr. Tim Parkin, University of Bristol, as At-Large Director, Region III (Europe).

Immediate Past-President, Dr. Ruby Perry of Tuskegee University, will remain on the board for an additional one-year term. Departing Board Members include Dr. Susan Tornquist of Oregon State University and Dr. Dana Zimmel of the University of Florida. The AAVMC thanks all board members and volunteers for their commitment and service.