American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges announces 2023 Award Winners


Susan Leigh, Director for Marketing and Communications

Phone: 202/371-9195 x171


WASHINGTON, D.C., December 08, 2022 —The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is pleased to announce our 2023 award winners. These awards represent significant professional achievement in veterinary medicine through research, diversity, leadership, and teaching.

The award winners are:  

  • Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service:
    • Dr. John Pascoe, University of California, Davis
  • Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, Presented by Zoetis:
    • Dr. Elizabeth Alvarez, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Excellence in Research Award:
    • Dr. Pamela Lein, University of California, Davis
  • Iverson Bell Award:
    • Dr. Rustin Moore, The Ohio State University

All four awards will be presented at AAVMC’s 2023 Catalyze conference in March 2023 in Washington, D.C. Nominations were open to all current AAVMC members, and the final honors were decided by members of various academic committee volunteers in addition to the AAVMC Executive Committee.

Complete details on each award, including past recipients, are available here.