AAVMC Excellence in Research Award

Nomination Period Opens: September 2, 2020
Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2020

Nominees must be affiliated with an AAVMC member or affiliate member institution, and be an active researcher (currently publishing, conducting research, and supervising graduate student training). Nominations are open internationally to individuals in any discipline of veterinary medicine. There is a limit of one nomination per AAVMC institution.
Who may nominate
AAVMC Institutional Representatives.
The awardee will be notified in November 2020. The award includes a $1000 honorarium. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference in March 2021 to receive the award and will be featured in a 3-minute tribute video. The awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC.
What to submit
Nominators must submit the following materials electronically via email.
  1. Nomination letter addressing the award criteria.
  2. Three supporting letters from individuals knowledgeable about the nominee’s achievements (at least two of these should be from colleagues at an institution other than the nominee’s current institution).
  3. The nominee's current C.V.
Where to submit materials
Materials should be submitted using the following survey linked here 
Award criteria
  1. Originality
    • Pioneered in the development of novel and significant areas of knowledge.
    • Developed new knowledge in a creative manner and with independent insight.
    • Created new knowledge to expand the understanding of veterinary medicine and/or extended the application of knowledge to veterinary practice/technology.
  2. Experimental Practices
    • Developed creative and innovative hypotheses during research.
    • Developed new and superior experimental methodologies.
    • Formulated experimental designs that enabled the derivation of unambiguous conclusions.
    • Conveyed research results to the scientific community with clarity through timely presentation at scientific meetings and by publication in high quality journals.
  3. Leadership
    • Provided essential contributions in team research endeavors.
    • Recognized as an innovator and scholar by peers as evidenced by other scientific awards and by invitations to participate in scholarly activities such as symposia.
    • Shared their research experience willingly and unselfishly with the scientific community through activities such as providing expert advice, sharing new techniques, or providing unique reagents.
    • Applied experimental results for the benefit of society.
  4. Graduate Student/Residency Training
    • Consistent track record of excellence in instruction/training of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, residents, or interns.
Award committee
The AAVMC Research Committee appoints the Award Committee from among its members. The award shall be given yearly, if a suitable recipient is identified by the Award Committee. 
Background and past recipients
In 2011, the Board of Directors established the AAVMC Excellence in Research Award to recognize outstanding research and scholarly achievements in the field of veterinary medicine. The award honors those who demonstrate excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community, and exceptional mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine. This award showcases the contributions of AAVMC member institutions to the scientific community, and the Award Committee seeks the most outstanding individuals for this recognition.

Past recipients of the AAVMC Excellence in Research Award

      2020    Dr. Peter Havel
      2019    Dr. Guy Palmer
      2018    Dr. Colin Parrish 
      2017    Dr. Edward Breitschwerdt
      2016    Dr. James Womack
      2015    Dr. Susan VandeWoude
      2014    Dr. Yoshihiro Kawaoka
      2013    Dr. James Fox
      2012    Dr. Edward Hoover
      2011    Dr. Stephen Barthold