American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges Announces 2024 Award Winners


Susan Leigh, Director for Marketing and Communications

Phone: 202/371-9195 x171


WASHINGTON, D.C., January 12th, 2024—The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is pleased to announce our 2024 award winners. These awards represent significant professional achievement in veterinary medicine through research, diversity, leadership, and teaching.

The award winners are: 

Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service:

  • Dr. India Lane, University of Tennessee

Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, Presented by Zoetis:

  • Dr. Rance K. Sellon, Washington State University

Excellence in Research Award:

  • Dr. Qijing Zhang, Iowa State University

Iverson Bell Award:

  • Dr. Hilda Mejia Abreu, Michigan State University
  • Dr. Monica Howard, Iowa State University

All awards will be presented at AAVMC’s 2024 Catalyze conference in April 2024 in Washington, D.C. Nominations were open to all current AAVMC members, and the final honors were decided by members of various academic committee volunteers in addition to the AAVMC Executive Committee.

Complete details on each award, including past recipients, are available here.