American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges welcomes 12 schools for membership


Susan Leigh, Director for Marketing and Communications

Phone: 202/371-9195 x171


WASHINGTON, D.C., January 31, 2024 — The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) has recently welcomed 12 new institutions for membership.

The Universidad de Ana G. Mendez in Puerto Rico has received a Letter of Reasonable Assurance from the Council on Education and was welcomed as a Member Institution of the AAVMC.

Provisional Membership is available for a school of veterinary medicine which is seeking accreditation by the Council on Education (COE). This category includes new developing programs in the United States and Canada as well as international schools that are planning to seek COE accreditation. The following schools have been approved for Provisional Membership:

·      Arkansas State University, Jonesboro

·      Chamberlain University, Stockbridge, Georgia

·      Clemson University, South Carolina

·      Hanover College, Indiana

·      Lincoln Memorial University-Orange Park, Florida

·      Lyon College, Little Rock, Arkansas

·      Rocky Vista University, Billings, Montana

·      Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain

·      University of Nicosia, Cyprus

·      Utah State University, Logan, Utah

Additionally, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto University in Karachi, Pakistan, has been accepted as a Collaborative Member. Collaborative Membership is available for schools of veterinary medicine which are outside the United States and Canada and are not currently seeking COE accreditation.

For more information about AAVMC and membership, please visit here.