Danielle Johnson at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine Wins Scholarship Fundraising Award

Washington, D.C., May 31, 2019 – Ms. Danielle Johnson, senior director of development at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, has been awarded the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges’ (AAVMC) inaugural 2019 Award for Fundraising Excellence in Student Scholarships.

The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine’s scholarship fundraising program was recognized by judges for its strategic, comprehensive and sustainable nature, as well as programmatic success. Increasing the amount of scholarship resources available for DVM students was an important goal of the college’s Be the Model strategic plan, and a systematic program was established to acquire transformational scholarship gifts.

That resulted in a rise of total philanthropic scholarship funding from $1,978,787 in 2017 to $4,800,876 in 2018 and an average scholarship presentation of $10,400. Last year, the college awarded 38 philanthropic scholarships of $15,000 or more.

“Educational debt is one of the most challenging issues facing academic veterinary medicine and the profession,” said AAVMC Chief Executive Officer Dr. Andrew T. Maccabe. “We’re honored to congratulate Danielle and her colleagues for earning this distinction. We were also very impressed with the quality of work being accomplished by the other nominees. This competition demonstrates that many of our member institutions are focusing increased attention on this critically important area.”

The judging team consisted of three executives serving with major organizations working in higher education and the animal and global health sectors. They included Ms. Linda Durant, vice president of development for the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE); Dr. Keith Martin, executive director of the Coalition of Universities for Global Health (CUGH); and Mr. Steve Feldman, executive director of the Human-Animal Bond Research Institute (HABRI).
The award includes a $1,000 honorarium, a commemorative, and public recognition. It will be formally presented during the annual meeting of the Association of Veterinary Advancement Professionals (AVAP) on Thursday, August 1 at 8 a.m. at the Courtyard Washington/Convention Center in Washington, D.C.The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment around the world by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Members include 49 accredited veterinary medical colleges in the United States, Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, Europe, Australia, and New Zealand.

                                                                                               – 30 –


Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson
Phone: 202/371-9195, x144
Email: jdouglas@aavmc.org or jjohnson@aavmc.org