New 2021-22 AAVMC Board Leadership Installed

Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson
Phone: 202/371-9195, x144
Email: or

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 18, 2021 — New leaders have taken their seats on the 2021-22 American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) Board of Directors and the board has been expanded to include a new non-voting liaison from the Association of Veterinary Technician Educators (AVTE).

Dr. Paul Lunn, dean of the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, has become President and Board Chair. An equine immunologist, Lunn earned his BVSc from Liverpool University, his MS from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, his PhD from Cambridge University, and is board certified by the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM). Prior to accepting the deanship at NCSU, he held leadership positions at Colorado State University and the University of Wisconsin.

Lunn, who served for the past year as President-Elect, replaces Dr. Mark Markel, dean of the University of Wisconsin School of Veterinary Medicine and a person who has held leadership positions within the AAVMC for the past five years. Markel will now move to the office of Past-President.

“I’ve known Dr. Markel for many years and we have enjoyed working together for the AAVMC,” said Dr. Lunn. “Mark has driven many of the most important initiatives at the AAVMC over the past decade. For that we are very grateful, and we’re looking forward to his continued contributions to the leadership team during the year ahead.”

Dr. Markel will replace Dr. Michael Lairmore, dean of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine as Past-President. Lairmore, who has completed his term as Past-President, recently announced he will conclude his tenure as dean at California-Davis and soon undertake a sabbatical.

“I really credit Michael and our other board members for the success we’ve had over the past several years,” said Markel. “These volunteers give so freely of their time and talents to serve on this board, which is working for the greater good of academic veterinary medicine. I’m very grateful for their contributions, and I’d like to personally recognize and thank my colleagues who are completing their terms of service.”

Dr. Susan Tornquist, the Lois Bates Acheson Dean of the Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine at Oregon State University, was elected President-Elect and becomes a member of the Executive Committee. Tornquist earned her DVM from Colorado State University and her PhD from Washington State University. Dr. Tornquist has served as president of the American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology (ASVCP) and the American College of Veterinary Pathology (ACVP).

Other officers on the board will remain the same. Dr. Mark Stetter, Dean of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, will remain as Treasurer and Dr. Ruby Perry, dean of the Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine, will remain Secretary of the Board.

Dr. Greg Keefe, dean of the Atlantic Veterinary College at the University of Prince Edward Island, is succeeded by Dr. Jeffrey Wichtel, dean of the Ontario Veterinary College at the University of Guelf as At-Large Director Region II (Canada).

Dr. Nigel Perkins, Head of the School of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Queensland is succeeded by Dr. Jonathan Huxley, Head of the Massey University School of Veterinary Science as At-Large Director Region III (Australia, New Zealand and Asia).

Dr. Tiffany Whitcomb, Department of Comparative Medicine at the Pennsylvania State University, is succeeded by Dr. Christina Sigurdson, co-director of the Center for Veterinary Sciences and Comparative Medicine at the University of California-Davis, as At-Large Director Representing Departments of Comparative  Medicine.

The AAVMC Board of Directors recently created a 16th seat on the Board to represent the Association of Veterinary Technician Educators as a result of growing mutual interests in academic veterinary medicine. Dr. James Hurrell of Penn Foster University will now serve as At-large Director Representing the AVTE (non-voting).

The AAVMC Assembly elects board members, meeting in conjunction with the Deans Leadership Conference, which is usually held in January. Terms of service, however, still begin and end with the final day of the annual conference.

Download a composite photo of the new board here.



The member institutions of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) promote and protect the health and wellbeing of people, animals and the environment by advancing the profession of veterinary medicine and preparing new generations of veterinarians to meet the evolving needs of a changing world. Founded in 1966, the AAVMC represents more than 40,000 faculty, staff and students across the global academic veterinary medical community. Our member institutions include veterinary medical colleges and schools in the United States, Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United Kingdom, Europe, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand as well as departments of veterinary science and depar     

– 30 –