The University of Pretoria in South Africa Joins the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges

Susan Leigh
Phone: 202/371-9195, x171

Washington, D.C., August 29, 2022 – University of Pretoria, located in South Africa, recently joined the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) as a collaborative member.

Collaborative Membership is available to any college or school of veterinary medicine outside of the U.S. and Canada which is recognized by its government as a professional school of veterinary medicine and is not currently seeking COE accreditation.

The University of Pretoria Faculty of Veterinary Science is AAVMC’s first member institution on the African continent. The Faculty of Veterinary Science serves the interests of all the people of South Africa and is well known for its quality of training, research, services, and community engagement. The faculty aims to better the life of the average South African by benefitting from better nutrition and the growth of the South African agro-economy.

“We’re pleased to welcome University of Pretoria as a member as we continue to expand our international footprint,” said AAVMC CEO Andrew T. Maccabe. “The AAVMC continues to grow internationally and now includes member institutions from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, United Kingdom, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, and New Zealand. Each of our members strengthens our impact, enriches our global perspective, and brings the benefit of diverse expertise.” A full listing of our Member Institutions is available here.