Latest News

Tuesday, 25 August, 2015

AAVMC Elects 2011-2012 Officers and Directors


 (Washington, D.C.) July 25, 2010 – Dr. Gerhardt Schurig, dean of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM), assumed the presidency of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) on July 18 at the AAVMC's 2011 Summer Meeting.  Members of the AAVMC Assembly also elected Dr. Deborah Kochevar, dean of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, to the office of president-elect.  


"Society holds practitioners of veterinary medicine in high esteem, and those of us in academic veterinary medicine face the challenge of balancing the need for efficient and forward looking change with the need to maintain the best practices that make it such a great profession,” Dr. Schurig said. “Veterinary medical education instills a uniquely valuable, comparative approach to medicine and we need to continue on that path — but we also need to pursue a vision that will enable us to progress and adapt to the future.  I look forward to working with our member institutions and stakeholders to achieve this goal.”


"The AAVMC knows that Dean Schurig brings wisdom, a broad perspective, experience, and astute judgment to this important role,” said AAVMC Executive Director Marguerite Pappaioanou. "The entire staff and the board of directors look forward to working with him in the coming year."


Assembly members also elected Dr. Deborah Kochevar, dean of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, as president-elect; and Dr. Stuart Reid, principal of the Royal Veterinary College at the University of London, as secretary.  Dr. Peter Haynes, dean of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine continues as treasurer; Dr. Christian Abee, chair of the department of veterinary science and director of the Michale E. Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine and Research at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Center, continues as at-large director for departments of comparative medicine; and Dr. Alastair Cribb, dean of the faculty of veterinary medicine at the University of Calgary, continues as at-large director for Canadian colleges.


Dr. Schurig is a professor and veterinary immunologist in VMRCVM’s department of biomedical sciences and pathobiology.  He earned his DVM degree in 1970 from the University of Chile.  After earning a master’s degree and doctorate in immunology from Cornell University, Dr. Schurig spent two years working in the department of veterinary science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  He joined the faculty of Virginia Tech in 1978.  Dr. Schurig previously served as chair of the department of veterinary biosciences, associate dean for research and graduate studies, director of Virginia Tech’s Institute for Biomedical and Public Health Sciences, and as a senior researcher and former director of the Center for Molecular Medicine and Infectious Diseases.  Dr. Schurig leads VMRCVM’s international programs.   He is a member of the American Association of the Advancement of Science, the American Association of Veterinary Immunologists, and the American Society of Microbiology, among many others.  He has received several major teaching and research awards, including the 1986 Beecham Award for Research Excellence.

#  #  #


The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is a non-profit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by generating new knowledge and preparing the high quality veterinary workforce needed to meet continually changing societal demands for veterinary expertise.  AAVMC provides leadership for and promotes excellence in academic veterinary medicine to prepare the veterinary workforce with the scientific knowledge and skills required to meet societal needs through the protection of animal health, the relief of animal suffering, the conservation of animal resources, the promotion of public health, and the advancement of medical knowledge.  On the Web:



Jeanne Johnson, Communications

Phone: 202-371-9195, ext. 144


Be Social